Rooting for the Lakers

I didn’t realize it until the third quarter of last night’s game 1 but I am hoping that the Lakers win this championship happen.  Now I just have to figure out why I would want this team to win.

The Lakers are surprisingly likable.  When did this happen?  About the point that Andrew Bynum proved himself on the court and the entire team took a collective breath of relief as Kobe finally stopped whining about his situation.  They became less likable after the Gasol trade, but that’s beside the point.  Kobe was no longer just a villain.  He was that character on a show that you hate because they just seemed filled with hate, but then the show spends some time developing the character and you find out that not only are they you’re favorite character on the show, but you think that their prior hate filled acts are now totally justified (See Ben on Lost, Rebecca on GREEK, or Marissa’s mom on The OC).  So after Kobe settled down and the rest of the team settled down it finally looked like the Lakers were having fun. 

Rebecca from GREEK

(As an aside I was born in 1982 and I don’t think that I’ve EVER seen a Lakers game where the players looked like they were enjoying themselves until this year, it was normally misery or a sense of entitlement that I saw on the players faces throughout the year, it’s nice that they’ve finally decided to smile.

The Lakers are a fast-paced team.  I’m normally in the “let’s just hope for a good game” category.  After watching the Celtics and Cavaliers play seven games I wanted Mike D’Antoni to swap brains with Doc Rivers.  But I’ll get to Doc Rivers more later.  But those games were for the most part terrible.  Nearing unwatchable, like what people used to say about the Spurs and Detroit, except I think it was worse.  In fact I watched a WNBA game that week and didn’t think it was that bad because they were doing ALL of the same things that Cleveland and Boston were doing.  The Lakers, on the other hand, like to score points.  They were third in offense during the season, and obviously have kept it up pretty well in the post-season.  There were multiple times during the night where I jumped up and shouted at an amazing play, but they were almost all because of some thing the Lakers were doing (Garnett did have some nice dunks, though).

Doc Rivers Sucks

I think my dislike of Doc Rivers is beginning to border on hate.  I read an article today about how Doc Rivers outcoached Phil Jackson.  I had to leave the building and calm down.  Let it go, Cassell is done.  Why do you keep playing him when any of his shots even going in feels like some sort of bonus.  I used to love Cassell as a player, but it just seems like he’s on his last legs.  I am constantly befuddled by who Doc Rivers substitutes in and out of the game.  It’s like he’s played NB2K8 and just let’s the computer do whatever it wants.  I’m going to move on from this one because I can’t think about it clearly enough to give any good evidence, but next game just watch and revel in the fact that the Celtics are in the finals despite Doc Rivers not because of him.

I’m not a big fan of Ray Allen.  Don’t know why.  I think it just seems that he was hyped way beyond his ability.

And one last reason that I can’t root for the Celtics.  The smugness of the “Greatest Team Ever” and all of the Boston fans because of the Patriots.  And winning the world series.  And getting Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen in the same sports year.  Hey Boston you want to share a bit of the sports glory with the rest of the country?  Luckily Tyree caught a pass that gut-punched the Boston area so that the smugness of football season didn’t carry over too much into basketball.

So there it is.  The reasons I’m rooting for the Lakers.  Although, it could all change by game 2.

Leave a Reply

