2008 NBA Draft

Kellan – It is currently an hour and a half until the draft officially starts, but I thought that I’d get some thoughts out there before this happens.  I’m going to try and be fair in my coverage of the draft, but will probably end up talking mostly about the Blazers and the Warriors, so fair warning.  And I guess I’ll start with what these two teams need to do.  For the Blazers I think that they trade every pick they have as well Jarrett Jack to the Nets for Devin Harris.  The Nets will have put themselves into a position to use those picks or leverage them.  It would help them clear cap space for the Lebron shoot-out that people have been anticipating for so many years.  And with Jason Kidd gone and now Richard Jefferson being swapped for “ChairMan” Yi and Bobby Simmons it looks like the Nets are in rebuilding mode which means that they can stockpile young talent and let them develop.  And then the Blazers get Devin Harris and go on to be a dominant team for nearly a decade.  C’mon Nets, make the trade.

Devin Harris

Kellan – Well bayareasportsguru I’m pretty excited to see what the Warriors do as well.  I think that you’re right that the best move they can make would probably to trade and get another piece that can start contributing immediately.  I don’t think that any of the players projected to go at 14 will be able to make meaningful contributions early on.  With the Warriors having won 48 games last year all that they need is a little extra something to get them into the playoffs.  I would like a trade with Detroit, but before being totally sold on it I’d have to see who the Warriors would be losing.

Kellan – So the beginning of the draft is only minutes away.  Will Chicago shock the world and take Beasley over Rose?  Or will they do what everyone things and go with the hometown hero?  Can Pat Riley pass on Beasley and go with OJ Mayo?  We will soon find this all out.  I do like that the NBA draft happens all at once, instead of having it take an entire weekend like the NFL.

Kellan – So Rose goes with the first pick in the Draft.  Now what is Chicago going to do with all of those guards?  Hmm, maybe they’ll sent one to Portland for Martell Webster or Travis Outlaw?

Kellan – And the second goes to Michael Beasley.  Pat Riley just proved that he does do a better job when he has just one.  On the ESPN live chat everyone thinks that the Timberwolves go with OJ Mayo for this pick, but I’ve heard that Kevin McHale is a huge Kevin Love fan.  I think it’d be great to see Kevin Love as the number 3 pick.

Kellan – OJ Mayo goes at number 3 and the draft is finally about to get interesting.  I don’t know who will actually be picked next.  1-3 seemed like everyone had come to a consensus that that was how it was turning out.

Kellan – Just got home but the picks went about how everyone had predicted.  And there’s been no trades?  I’m stunned that no one has made any moves yet?  Although we’re getting closer to Portland’s pick and Kevin Pritchard seems to like wheeling and dealing on draft day.

Kellan – New Jersey takes Brook Lopez.  I think that that pick actually makes a lot of sense.  The Nets needed a big man.  But it really looks like New Jersey might take a couple of years to develop.  Can the fans wait for it?

Kellan – I like the Pac-10 shout out as Jerryd Bayless is selected by the Indiana Pacers.  5 of the first 11 picks are from the Pac-10?  Seems like it must be a pretty good conference to have that happen.  Sacramento is now on the clock.  And really no trades?  From anybody?  It’s freakin’ me out.  And Jason Thompson goes to Sacramento.  Now are the two big picks in a row for me, Portland and Golden State.  Big money picks, or big trades.  Let’s do it.

Kellan – And the Trailblazers pick, Brandon Rush.  The shooting guard.  I’m still feeling that Portland is going to pull off some sort of trade.  With Brandon Roy playing big minutes in the SG position how much room is there for Brandon Rush.  Although maybe a good back-up for a year or two?  Now let’s get ready for Golden State’s pick.  And it is Anthony Randolph.  Can he help out Golden State immediately?  I don’t think so.  But there is a chance that other players get traded and right now his salary is going to seem pretty nice.

Jeff – Hi all, just got here, but this is what I’ve heard, its sounds like Jared Jack is no longer a Blazer. It looks like we are going to trade JJ, Rush, and maybe #27 draft pick for Bayless. Granted thaty maybe a rumor, and it actully is so far, but just wait one more minute.

Kellan – And Portland proposes a trade.  I love draft day.  Bye bye Jarrett Jack.

Kellan – Jeff was wondering whether Rudy Fernandez would be good to fill the Portland 3 spot.  I showed him this video.

Kellan – Good draft.  I’ll have to review what happened in a later post.  It’s a lot to process.

 

One Response to 2008 NBA Draft

  1. bayareasportsguru says:

    I am interested in seeing what the Warriors will do in this draft. Will they make a trade which rumor has it could be with Detroit or maybe they’ll trade up to get a better pick. Regardless, I hope they make the right move!

Leave a Reply

